A Lifelong Dream Come True

For my whole life, I have dreamed about getting to snorkel at the Great Barrier Reef and now I can finally check it off my bucket list! When the class was in Cairns, we all got to spend a day snorkeling along one of the reefs that makes up the large expanse known as the Great Barrier Reef. My expectations of the Reef were blown out of the water! The coral and fish were all so cool looking and it was surreal to be able to swim with all the little fish and be so close to them. I even got to pet a few fish! 

The only previous knowledge I had about the Reef was from the legendary movie “Finding Nemo.” The fish from the movie were surprisingly quite similar to what I had experienced in the cartoon animated movie. It was incredible to see the diversity in wildlife and their appearances. The fish ranged in colors from black, blue, purple, yellow, and pretty much every other color of the rainbow. As a biology major, I had read and learned about the wide range of diversity within the Reef but it was unreal to get to experience it in real life, up close and personal. 

I could have spent a lifetime swimming around and observing the different fish, their habitats in the reef, and their interactions with other sea creatures. It is truly incredible that Australia has been able to preserve the Reef in such pristine condition. I can now understand why the Reef brings tourists from all over the world. It is one of the most incredible experiences I have ever had in my life. I would love to come back and visit again someday! In the meantime, I guess I’ll have to settle for watching “Finding Nemo” back home! 

-Kacy Nichols

Leave a Reply

