A Rainforest in Australia?

Maybe it’s just me, but whenever I think of Australia, I picture a dry desert with a few big cities spread around on the coast. After visiting Cairns, my mental picture has completely changed. I never expected to find a lush rainforest with rivers flowing through it. So, I had to pinch myself to make sure I wasn’t in the Amazon.

Cairns contains a completely different climate and landscape from Sydney and Melbourne. The small city is surrounded by the mountainous rainforest on one side, and on the other, the Pacific Ocean. However, this makes sense with Cairns being located inside the Tropics. From riding the sky rail to a nearby town and taking a boat out to the Great Barrier Reef, it looks as if the rainforest never ends.

As a result, Cairns offered a new side to the trip which we did not experience in Sydney or Melbourne. Instead of touring museums and cities, we spent time out in nature. This helped show how diverse of a nation Australia is, as well as the different cultures it contains. So, it truly proved to be similar to a young United States.

Clint Thomas

Leave a Reply

